Real Estate/Notary Experience

Maine Certified Real Estate Appraiser 2001 – present

Maine Registered Residential Appraiser 1998 – 2001

New Hampshire Certified Real Estate Appraiser 2002 – 2007

USPAP qualified 1998 – present

FHA approved 2002 – present

Maine Notary 2000 – 2014; 2023 – present

Maine Real Estate Agent 1995 – 1999

Certified Real Estate Appraiser: A professional who has obtained certification from a regulatory agency to perform real estate appraisals. These appraisers have typically met specific education, experience, and examination requirements set by a state regulatory body. They are authorized to provide unbiased and accurate valuations of real estate properties for various purposes, including mortgage lending, property taxation, estate planning, and legal matters, and are typically recognized as having a higher level of expertise and qualification compared to other types of appraisers. Certified Real Estate Appraisers play a crucial role in the real estate industry by providing reliable assessments that help facilitate fair and informed decision-making for buyers, sellers, lenders, and other stakeholders.

USPAP qualified: An individual who has demonstrated proficiency in understanding and applying the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) through applicable courses. USPAP is the set of standards established by the Appraisal Standards Board of The Appraisal Foundation, which governs the appraisal profession in the United States.

These individuals are knowledgeable about the ethical and professional standards that appraisers must adhere to when conducting appraisals. Being USPAP qualified is essential for appraisers as it ensures they conduct their work with integrity, objectivity, and impartiality, thereby promoting public trust in the appraisal profession.

FHA-approved: An appraiser officially approved by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) to conduct property appraisals for FHA-insured mortgages. To become approved, appraisers must meet specific qualifications and criteria set by the FHA. These criteria typically include completing relevant education and training and demonstrating competency in property valuation techniques. FHA-approved appraisers are authorized to assess properties according to FHA guidelines to ensure they meet minimum property standards and are eligible for FHA financing. This designation signifies that the appraiser is qualified and competent to conduct appraisals for FHA-insured loans.

Maine Notary: An individual appointed by the State of Maine to serve as an impartial witness to the signing of important documents. Notaries public in Maine have the authority to administer oaths and affirmations, witness and authenticate signatures, and certify copies of certain documents. They play a crucial role in preventing fraud and ensuring the validity and legality of documents such as deeds, contracts, powers of attorney, and affidavits. To become a Maine Notary, individuals must meet specific qualifications and undergo training, including passing an examination. Once appointed, Notaries in Maine must adhere to state laws and regulations governing their duties and responsibilities.